Nicci Morris

Wonton imagination…

In Entertaining, Food on August 30, 2009 at 3:34 am

The best kind of party is of the impromptu variety. Friends show up and you rummage through the pantry and the refrigerator and create a veritable smorgasbord of otherwise mismatched offerings. The wine is flowing and all is well in your little corner of the world. But I also enjoy planning a party and that’s just what I’m going to do.


I think I’ll make it a game party. I’ll put Monopoly, Scattergories, Taboo and the Wii out (I dare anyone to challenge me to a round of anything…). A little music for background noise… But the most important and memorable thing will always be the menu. To encourage frivolity and mingling, I’ll stick with finger foods. I think small bites should be beautiful and have big flavors, leaving a lasting impression. “Remember the >insert amazing dish here< we had at Nicci’s? Man, was that incredible. Good times. Goooood times….,” they’ll say.

Planning a menu is also a good opportunity to create recipes. I’m going to make it an Iron Chef-esque challenge for myself… The main ingredient? Wonton wrappers. I already know what we’re having for dessert: Chocolate-Hazelnut Ravioli. I saw Giada make them a while back and I’ve been looking for an excuse to fry up such decadence. And I think a tart lemon-berry reduction as a dipping sauce would be a nice touch.

So I’ll need to have a bunch of savory wonton-wrapped bites as well. Steamed, fried, baked or boiled… I’ve been thinking miniature vegetable lasagnas, featuring layers of sauce and ricotta, would be fun. Or kimchi with a spicy sesame sauce. I’ve filled wonton wrappers with roasted butternut squash, cardamom and cinnamon and they were fabulous (the sage-butter sauce I put over them didn’t hurt). There are a million variations.

Do you have any filling ideas?

 

Leave a Reply

